• Down

    Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

  • Remaining: 0

    As of December 17, 2012, goal reached in 7.5 months!
  • Categories

  • Fat Loss Journey

    April 2012
    S M T W T F S
        May »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  

Maintaining the Body: Keeping the Body in Top Form (or close to it)

Again, yesterday I brisk walked in the morning and as usual I stopped by a coffee shop. Sometimes I would have apple cinnamon tea, sometimes a large coffee with four creams and two sugar – sounds like I’m giving you the order (LOL).  I felt it was necessary to stop by for one because I needed to rest. What I wasn’t aware of was why. My muscles were so tense and they still are today!

I didn’t warm up the muscles before my workout – I didn’t think it was necessary. Brisk walking isn’t a high impact physical activity, right? Right. I guess as long as the body is moving, the muscles need to warm up first. I didn’t know why until now.  So, then, does that mean “low impact” physical activity can tear the ligaments or pull the muscles?  Another topic for me to research into.

Benefits of warming up the muscles:

  • helps me prepare for brisk walking
  • helps reduce risk of injury and the aches and pains that come with exercise

The physiological reason to warm up:

  • to assist the circulatory system in pumping oxygen-rich blood to the working muscles

Warming up the muscles that I will be using prepares the body for the increased demands of exercise. Cold muscles won’t absorb shock or impact very well, thus the muscles are more susceptible to injury.

Reference

Ask the Experts

On a matter related to a previous post, I have found a textbook from the library on flat feet but it’s reference material, not take out. I’m going to take that trip to the Reference Library very soon. See what it has to say. Does it confirm what I have found on the Internet? Does it give new information? I will post my findings soon.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Even if you stretch for 2 – 3 minutes before a run/walk it will really help! I know it helps me 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

