• Down

    Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

  • Remaining: 0

    As of December 17, 2012, goal reached in 7.5 months!
  • Categories

  • Fat Loss Journey

    May 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  

Why Walk Anyway?

This post is for those, like me, who “just don’t feel like it”. I still have days when I don’t want to walk. The weather isn’t so bad here, but still, it’s easier to stay indoors.

Nine things that walking can do for anyone:

  1. prevents type 2 diabetes
  2. strengthens the heart
  3. good for the brain
  4. good for the bones
  5. helps alleviate symptoms of depression
  6. reduces risk of breast and colon cancer
  7. improves fitness
  8. in short bouts it improves fitness
  9. improves physical function

Interestingly, brisk walking of three 10-minute walks per day resulted in similar improvements in fitness and were at least as effective in decreasing body fatness as long bouts (one 30-minute walk per day).

Also, if I walk one mile every day I will have a higher bone density when I’m in the postmenopausal age. The key here is one mile every day. I’m currently walking 1.6 miles every other day. I suppose when my life gets too busy, doing three spurts of ten-minute brisk walk is good, too. I’m still walking fast and getting my heart pumping.

Check out this website for more information: Walking

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

