• Down

    Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

  • Remaining: 0

    As of December 17, 2012, goal reached in 7.5 months!
  • Categories

  • Fat Loss Journey

    May 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  

In Long-Term Health and in Wellness, Belly Matters

I’m 41 years old at the moment and I do have a belly. If I have to give you a body type, it appears that I’m pear-shaped.

I googled ‘get rid of belly fat’ and the first article I came across was from Dr. Oz’s website.

Biology of Belly Fat

The number one reason why it’s hard for someone like me to lose the belly: hormones. When I will reach the menopausal stage there will be a drop in estrogen and my body will change where it stores fat–making me more prone to gaining visceral belly fat.

Stresses of life: children, college tuition or the mortgage, or any major stress in life, can lead to an increase in cortisol (the stress hormone) which triggers my body to store fat around the middle.

True. Stress is the reason why I can’t lose the belly fat.

Why I Worry

Visceral fat surrounds organs and a disproportionate amount of visceral fat is a factor in Type 2 Diabetes and heart disease. In addition, current research revealed that belly fat is a risk factor for bone loss; the fat enters the bone marrow and thus there is a reduction in bone mineral density.

Foods That Pack on Belly Fat

Hydrogenated oil is not healthy (crystalswholehealth mentioned this) and enriched flours are not my friends–and especially transfat. Researchers have found that it increases the fat in my midsection and can redistribute fat found in other parts of the body and pack them into the belly. So, does that mean I should not eat Mac ‘n Cheese? I’m looking at the Nutrition Facts and there is 5% Saturated Fat (1g for a 3/4 cup serving). Trans Fat: 0g.

References

If I find other interesting articles on this topic, I will share them with you.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I didn’t know stress could trigger fat storage. Very interesting!

    Reply
    • Yeah, I know! It’s about the sympathetic nervous system. When our bodies and in flight/fright some parts of our bodies are ‘suspended’ i.e. storing food for later, etc.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

