• Down

    Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

  • Remaining: 0

    As of December 17, 2012, goal reached in 7.5 months!
  • Categories

  • Fat Loss Journey

    November 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

Look Where I’m at Now!

I miss the warmer months of the year. I was out there brisk walking for at least 2 hours at a time and now that the cooler months are here, I have to stick to indoors…and the treadmill.

I’d have to spend at least 2 hours on the treadmill each day to burn off as many calories as I do in brisk walking.

Some of you athletically-inclined folks will say “Then do that!” Well…I’ve tried going to the gym twice a day but my energy was spent when I was on the treadmill a second time that day.

“So…” you say “that is the next level up for you”.

So it is. And when I’m feeling a lot of stress, that’s the best time for me to do it. I’m still not into physical activity as many of you here are, but then I’ve had a lifetime of being a couch potato and eating junk food.

Guess what? Yesterday was the first time since I’ve seen my dietitian (May 30, 2012) that I’ve had junk food – i.e. 3 cookies: 2 peanut butter and one macadamia nut from Tim Horton’s. I just felt like having it and even though there are days I feel like having junk food (and I’m not counting smoothie bars as junk food because it doesn’t have even 1% fat) most times I didn’t give in. That’s 5 months I’ve gone without junk food! That’s a record for me and I’ve been eating junk food since I was in Kindergarten! And sometimes that was the only thing I ate – not because we didn’t have other food but that was my choice food.

I don’t miss the junk food much, but I miss the warm weather much much more. I loved sitting down after 1 hour 10 minutes of brisk walking and looking at the lake, the birds, the joggers and cyclists going by, but especially watching the sky tell stories. They can, you know. Sometimes they shape into something we’ve seen in a Hollywood movie and sometimes they’re foreboding. I don’t believe in the end of the world stuff that some claim days away from Christmas 2012.

That’s Divine stuff!

Thank goodness I’ve lost a lot of fat on my body and it has taken so far 5 months to lose most of it and I’ve got 9 pounds to go. Well, the only thing I can think of to do is even if I’m hungry after exercising not give into it. There were days that I consumed about 1900 calories a day and burned off as many calories. Having IBS doesn’t help – 1900 calories is a big meal for me. My dietitian knows all about this, I talked to her and she’s not worried about me consuming more calories. Well, I am because that 1.5 weeks that I was eating more than usual (only the healthy food) was also the 1.5 weeks that I had a problem with regularity.

And I was doing so well in that department before my body craved more food after the workouts. However, now that the weather is cooler, soup is in the diet, almost daily.

It looks to me that I’m at a good place in my life – i.e. not eating junk food on a weekly basis, sometimes every other day and taking care of my body as much as possible.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. You are doing amazing! You get it, you’ve had to make a lifestyle change. We all slip up and eat cookies here and there, but it’s getting back into the swing of things the next day – that’s what matters! Have a great weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

